Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

Jan de Rijk Logistics

Integrated planning tool designed for the future

The upgrade of planning tools and processes at Jan de Rijk Logistics is underpinning a sophisticated growth strategy. Ordina's bold approach was widely welcomed. More transparency and understanding of operational realities increased efficiency at Jan de Rijk Logistics and improved customer service.

Jan de Rijk Logistics Contact Contact Wouter Tielemans

customer

Jan de Rijk Logistics, headquartered in Roosendaal (Netherlands), is a leader in the field of international air cargo. As a logistics service provider, Jan de Rijk Logistics offers customers a wide range of services. The company combines know-how of the entire supply chain with advanced ICT applications and technologies.

challenge

Jan de Rijk Logistics has grown exponentially in recent years. The planning processes based on Quintiq were showing the strain, and were ready for a thorough update. The company was looking for standardization, without compromising flexibility. One of the ways of doing this was to link various on-board computer systems to the logistics planning. Jan de Rijk Logistics also wanted to plan and monitor the handling of shipments in the future according to a fixed procedure. To achieve transparent planning, the retail business units, international divisions and air cargo divisions needed to be connected to the same platform.

solution

Ordina put the existing planning, dispatching and monitoring processes under the microscope. We fine-tuned the organization of Jan de Rijk Logistics and devised the concept for a new, centralized logistics planning tool. The HR department of Jan de Rijk Logistics was also able to rely on Ordina in the reorganization of the planning department. Ordina successfully implemented a KPI oriented planning system. A great deal of attention was paid to the dynamics of the system (with alerting and revision management). We linked the new system seamlessly to the existing Chainware TMS system and the black boxes and GPS systems in the trucks. In order to control the standardized message traffic with the various onboard computers, Ordina set up  a service bus architecture. All communication - with the ERP system, customers, partners and with trucks - now runs on one central 'bus'.

result

Jan de Rijk Logistics can now rely on an efficient planning tool for its fleet of over 800 trucks. More than 50 users spread across eighteen locations, are now making use of the new system. Planners can respond faster to unexpected situations. The planning automatically takes account of a varied set of parameters and constantly adapts to the current situation on the ground. More transparency and understanding of operational realities increased efficiency at Jan de Rijk Logistics and perceptibly improved customer service.

Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

Jan de Rijk Logistics

Outil d'avenir pour une planification intégrée

Actualisation des outils et processus de planification chez Jan de Rijk Logistics au service d'une astucieuse stratégie de croissance. L'approche dynamique d'Ordina a pu compter sur un accueil très favorable. Augmenter la transparence et la compréhension de la réalité opérationnelle a permis à Jan de Rijk Logistics d'améliorer son efficacité et son service à la clientèle.

Jan de Rijk Logistics Contact Prendre contact avec Wouter Tielemans

Le client

Jan de Rijk Logistics, dont le siège social est situé à Roosendaal (Pays-Bas), est leader dans le fret aérien international. Prestataire logistique, Jan de Rijk Logistics offre à ses clients une large palette de services. A une bonne compréhension de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, l'entreprise associe des applications ICT et des technologies avancées.

Le défi

Jan de Rijk Logistics a connu une croissance explosive ces dernières années. Les processus de planification basés sur Quintiq ont montré leurs limites et nécessitaient une solide mise à jour. L'entreprise était en quête de standardisation, tout en voulant maintenir sa flexibilité. Un des moyens déployés était de relier différents systèmes informatiques de bord au planning logistique. Ensuite, Jan de Rijk Logistics voulait pouvoir planifier et suivre le traitement des envois selon un schéma fixe. Une planification transparente supposait de connecter sur la même plateforme les retail business units, les divisions internationales et les divisions du fret aérien.

La solution

Ordina a examiné de près les processus de planification, de dispatching et de monitoring. Nous avons mis au point l'organisation de Jan de Rijk Logistics et développé le concept d'un nouvel outil de planification logistique centralisé. Le département RH de Jan de Rijk Logistics a pu compter sur Ordina aussi dans la réorganisation du département de planification. Ordina a implémenté avec succès un système de planification orienté KPI, en portant une grande attention à la dynamique du système (avec alerte et gestion des révisions). Ce nouveau système a été parfaitement intégré au système TMS Chainware et aux boîtes noires et GPS des camions.Pour garder sous contrôle les échanges de messages standardisés avec les ordinateurs de bord, Ordina a élaboré une architecture de boîte de services. Toutes les communications – avec le système ERP, les clients, les partenaires et les camions – passent désormais par une "boîte" centrale unique.

Le résultat

Jan de Rijk Logistics peut compter sur un outil de planification efficace pour son parc de plus de 800 camions. Plus de 50 utilisateurs, répartis sur 18 sites, utilisent depuis lors le nouveau système. Les planificateurs peuvent réagir plus rapidement en cas d'imprévus. Le planning tient compte automatiquement d'une série variée de paramètres et s'adapte en permanence à la situation du terrain. Augmenter la transparence et la compréhension de la réalité opérationnelle a permis à Jan de Rijk Logistics de renforcer son efficacité et d'améliorer notablement son service à la clientèle