Bart Holtappels Sales Manager +32 476 83 84 06

Nike ELC

The software factory of Nike ELC

“Ordina showed their professional expertise right from the initial discussions. Their vision and proposals convinced us. As a partner, they kept their promises: the right people came up with the right answers at the right time. In addition, we learned from each other all the time, because our teams were very complementary. Thanks to the open communication we managed to overcome any obstacles."

Nike ELC Contact Contact Bart Holtappels

customer

The Nike European Logistics Center (ELC) has three distribution centers in Laakdal and one in Herentals. The centers coordinate all logistics activities for the sports clothing and footwear specialist, between its 200 factories and 30,000 customers in 55 countries. All Nike shoes, clothing and accessories that are in stores in Europe, virtually or physically pass through the logistics center. Nike ELC dispatches the orders to every consumer who orders products via nikestore.com.

challenge

Due to an incoherent approach to process innovation, Nike ELC struggled in the past with slow and arduous development processes. IT projects found it tough to get off the ground and often suffered from a lack of confidence. Two developments encouraged Nike ELC to adopt a new approach. The introduction of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act in the U.S. in 2002 imposed new rules on American companies for management and adaptation of software. Moreover, in 2008 Nike ELC adopted a new Java development technology. Nike ELC decided to set up a software factory. Uniform standards and processes and the use of practices, tools and libraries were intended to improve stability and efficiency. However, Nike ELC had insufficient experience with branching models and build technologies. So it was on the lookout for a partner who could provide coaching in setting-up the new software factory.

solution

Ordina helped Nike ELC put together the various pieces of the puzzle. We supported Nike ELC in the development of a unified end-to-end process, with explicit attention to source code management, continuous integration and a formalized roll-out process. With additional control mechanisms and a strict division of roles and tasks, we built in the security required by Sarbanes-Oxley.

result

The software factory brought business and IT closer together. The increased efficiency and reliability of IT solutions led to greater confidence in their own abilities at Nike ELC. Structured and unambiguous processes offer more control over the final outcome of projects. Both developers and end users now benefit from faster service, constant quality and consistency. Moreover, the cost of software development plummeted and the software factory enabled Nike ELC to allocate the available resources more efficiently.

Bart Holtappels Sales Manager +32 476 83 84 06

Nike ELC

L'éditeur de logiciels de Nike ELC

“Dès les premiers entretiens, Ordina a fait preuve de connaissances techniques approfondies. Leur vision et leurs propositions nous ont convaincus et en tant que partenaire, ils ont tenu leurs promesses: les bonnes personnes arrivaient au bon moment avec les bonnes réponses. Nous avons constamment appris l'un de l'autre, parce que nos équipes étaient très complémentaires. Grâce à une communication ouverte, nous avons facilement franchi les obstacles.”

Nike ELC Contact Prendre contact avec Bart Holtappels

Le client

Le Nike European Logistics Center (ELC) compte trois centres de distribution à Laakdal et un à Herentals. Les centres coordonnent pour le spécialiste en vêtements et chaussures de sport toutes les activités logistiques entre les 200 usines et 30.000 clients dans 55 pays. Les chaussures, vêtements et accessoires Nike qui se trouvent en magasin en Europe passent tous virtuellement ou physiquement par le centre logistique. Le consommateur qui commande des produits sur nikestore.com, les réceptionne chez lui via Nike ELC.

Le défi

Un manque de cohérence dans la rénovation du processus confrontait Nike ELC à des processus de développement laborieux. Les projets IT démarraient difficilement dans un climat de méfiance. Deux évolutions ont incité Nike ELC à opter pour une nouvelle approche: La loi Sarabanes-Oxley de 2002, qui a imposé aux entreprises américaines de nouvelles règles concernant la gestion et l'adaptation des logiciels, et l'acquisition en 2008, avec Java, d'une nouvelle technologie de développement. Nike ELC a alors décidé de fonder une software factory. Une uniformisation des standards et processus et l'utilisation de pratiques, outils et catalogues devaient augmenter la stabilité et l'efficacité. Nike ELC manquait toutefois d'expérience en matière de modèles de branchement et de technologies de construction. Il a donc cherché un partenaire qui pouvait le coacher dans la mise sur pied de cette software factory.

La solution

Ordina a épaulé Nike ELC dans le développement d'un processus end-to-end uniforme, en portant une attention explicite sur la gestion du code source, l'intégration continue et un processus d'implémentation standardisé. Grâce à des mécanismes de contrôle supplémentaires et une stricte répartition des rôles et des tâches, nous avons intégré la sécurité qu'exige Sarabanes-Oxley.

Le réultat

La software factory a rapproché business et IT. L'efficacité et la fiabilité accrues des solutions IT ont renforcé la confiance de Nike ELC dans ses capacités. Des processus claires et structurés permettent une meilleure maîtrise du résultat final des projets. Concepteurs et utilisateurs finaux profitent d'un service plus rapide, d'une qualité constante et d'une cohérence. Enfin, les frais de développement des logiciels ont chuté et la software factory permet à Nike ELC de mobiliser plus efficacement les moyens disponibles