Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

PSA Antwerp

Planning software juggles the schedules of Antwerp dockers

Planning the work in a port is not easy. Dockers are day-labourers: their work has to be scheduled every day. Moreover, there are a number of unpredictable factors such as the weather at sea, or the speed of the other ports. Transhipment company PSA Antwerp decided to tackle two challenges simultaneously: optimize the planning of the port workers and reinforce the communication between the dockers and PSA. PSA joined forces with Ordina to do this. The solution: a flexible planning and communication platform, seamlessly integrated with other systems.

PSA Antwerp Contact Contact Wouter Tielemans

customer

Transhipment company PSA Antwerp is a subsidiary of PSA International, one of the largest port groups in the world. PSA has a global network of 20 port projects spread across 11 countries, including Singapore, Belgium, China, Europe, India, South Korea and Japan. In 2002, PSA HNN was created by a merger of two terminal operators and a takeover by the PSA group. This made the company the largest loader and unloader of containers in the port of Antwerp. In 2010, PSA HNN was renamed PSA Antwerp.

challenge

Previously, PSA HNN - the name by which PSA Antwerp was then known - relied on the services of the 'Central Automatic Dispatch System’ (CADS). The terminals sent their requests for dockers to the dispatch system. They drew up the planning schedule and sent back the result. After more than ten years, however, that system was showing its limitations. The implementation of the dockers’ schedules sometimes changed at the last minute, for example, because ships were delayed. Therefore, PSA could not see immediately the costs incurred for customers. That entailed a lot of extra work afterwards. Also, communication with the dockers was very labour-intensive. Their schedule was notified over the phone. Finally, the training or supervision of the dockers was planned manually - and therefore less quickly.

solution

Via a partnership with Ordina, PSA opted for the Quintiq Advanced Planning & Scheduling (APS) software. This enables the dispatch department to plan the schedules of several thousand dockers centrally. The system also serves as a flexible communication platform for the dockers. On a portal, they can now view their schedule, indicate their availability or request holidays. They can receive their schedule by text message. To confirm their schedule they can call a toll-free number. The 'interactive voice response' system – ‘the talking lady' - does the rest. The system was integrated with numerous other applications. For example, the planning is linked to the payroll calculation for the dockers. And using the link to the HR system, the system automatically schedules coaches for training courses or supervision.

result

The system not only enables PSA to plan efficiently, but also to monitor the actual work done by the dockers. This shows the planners the real cost of operations for customers. Every day, the operational departments receive performance reports. Where necessary, they can take corrective action immediately. The dockers are totally in agreement with the digital revolution. Thanks to the range of new communication channels, they can also work more efficiently and conveniently. The professional communication also strengthens their commitment to their employer. 90 to 95% of the planning is now done automatically, and therefore much faster than before. Peaks and troughs in the workload - inevitable in ports - are therefore handled effectively.

Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

PSA Antwerp

Un logiciel de planification organise les horaires des dockers anversois

Planifier le travail portuaire n’est pas une sinécure ! Les dockers sont des journaliers : leur travail est planifié jour par jour ! En outre, nombreux facteurs imprévisibles entrent en ligne de compte, comme la météo maritime, ou la rapidité des autres ports. L’entreprise de transbordement PSA Antwerp a décidé de relever deux challenges simultanément : d’une part, l’optimalisation du planning des ouvriers portuaires et d’autre part, le renforcement de la communication entre les dockers et PSA. C’est pourquoi PSA s’est associé à Ordina. La solution : une plate-forme de planification et de communication flexible et parfaitement intégrée aux autres systèmes.

PSA Antwerp Contact Prendre contact avec Wouter Tielemans

le client

L’entreprise de transbordement PSA Antwerp est une filiale de PSA International, l’un des plus grands groupes portuaires au monde. PSA possède un réseau global de 20 projets portuaires, disséminés dans 11 pays (Singapour, Belgique et pays d’Europe, Inde, Chine, Corée du Sud et Japon). En 2002, PSA HNN est né d’une fusion entre deux opérateurs de terminal et de la reprise du groupe PSA. L’entreprise est ainsi devenue la plus importante entreprise de transbordement de conteneurs du port d’Anvers.  En 2010, PSA HNN a été rebaptisé PSA Antwerp.

le défi

Auparavant, PSA HNN (nom sous lequel PSA Antwerp a été créé) comptait sur les services du ‘Centraal Automatisch Dispatch Systeem’ (CADS). Les terminaux envoyaient leurs demandes de dockers au centre de dispatching. Ce dernier établissait le planning et renvoyait le résultat. Mais après plus de dix ans d’utilisation, ce système avait atteint ses limites. L’exécution du planning des dockers devenait parfois du last minute, par exemple, lorsque les bateaux avaient du retard. PSA n’avait donc pas une vue immédiate et claire sur les coûts générés pour les clients. Avec une surcharge de travail en conséquence. La communication avec les travailleurs portuaires était également fastidieuse. Leur horaire leur était transmis par téléphone. Enfin, la formation comme l’accompagnement des travailleurs étaient planifiés manuellement, donc moins rapidement.

la solution

Via un partenariat avec Ordina, PSA a opté pour le logiciel Advanced Planning & Scheduling (APS) de Quintiq. Le département chargé du dispatching peut ainsi régler le planning de plusieurs milliers de travailleurs portuaires. Le système fait en outre office de plate-forme de communication pour les travailleurs du port. Sur un site portail, ils peuvent désormais – entre autres – visualiser leur planning, indiquer leurs disponibilités et introduire des demandes de congés. Ils peuvent aussi recevoir leur horaire de travail par SMS. Et pour confirmer, ils peuvent utiliser un numéro vert gratuit. Le système ‘interactive voice response’ - la voix féminine qui accueille l’appelant – fait le reste. Le système a été intégré dans de nombreuses autres applications. Le planning a ainsi été associé au logiciel de calcul des salaires. Et grâce au lien avec le système HR, le système introduit automatiquement  les coaches pour les formations et accompagnements.

le résultat

Le système permet non seulement à PSA de planifier plus efficacement mais aussi de suivre les prestations réelles des ouvriers portuaires. Il est ainsi possible de connaître le coût réel des activités pour les clients. Chaque jour, les services opérationnels reçoivent des rapports de prestation. Ils peuvent dès lors apporter directement les corrections éventuellement nécessaires. Les dockers sont très satisfaits de cette révolution numérique. Grâce aux nombreux nouveaux canaux de communication, le système est également plus efficace et agréable pour eux également. La communication professionnelle renforce en outre les liens avec leur employeur. 90 à 95 % de la planification s’opère désormais automatiquement et donc nettement plus rapidement qu’auparavant. Les fluctuations de la charge de travail – inévitables dans un port – sont dès lors appréhendées plus efficacement.