Laurent Van Hoorebeke Infrastructure Specialist & Ambassador Dell Partnership +32 476 68 93 48

Arcelormittal

DATA STORAGE READY FOR THE FUTURE WITH DELL COMPELLENT ENTERPRISE

ArcelorMittal is the world’s biggest steel producer. All critical production processes depend on a central data storage system. Because the existing storage platform lacked performance and was not geared towards the further growth of the group, ArcelorMittal called on Ordina to roll out Dell Compellent Enterprise. This new-generation platform takes capacity and performance to new heights.

Arcelormittal Contact Contact Laurent Van Hoorebeke

Costumer

ArcelorMittal is the world’s biggest steel producer, with 60 sites in 27 different countries. The group was created in 2006 from the merger of Arcelor and Mittal Steel. Worldwide the steel giant employs around 260,000 people, and in our country there are sites in Ghent, Geel and Genk. 

challenge

ArcelorMittal’s production sites work around the clock. All critical production processes are supported by a single central computer system. Reliable, efficient and stable data storage is therefore an absolute must. Because the existing HP EVA system lacked the performance and capacity to cope with the further growth of the group, ArcelorMittal decided to invest in a new-generation platform.

solution

In collaboration with Dell, Ordina rolled out Dell Compellent Enterprise as a central storage system. The system was developed to be completely redundant, spread over two ArcelorMittal data centres. Certified Dell Compellent engineers from Ordina were responsible for the design, installation and configuration. During the actual migration phase, the implementation team used the ThinImport functionality. This enabled the consultants to keep downtime to an absolute minimum.

result

Dell Compellent Enterprise uses the very latest technologies to take capacity and performance to new heights. Thus, the teams in the data centres can now decide themselves which data to store on fast disks and which on slower disks. Deduplication ensures that identical data are only ever saved once. The new storage system is also geared towards the further growth of the group. In short, with Dell Compellent Enterprise the data centres of ArcelorMittal are ready for the future.

Laurent Van Hoorebeke Infrastructure Specialist & Ambassador Dell Partnership +32 476 68 93 48

Arcelormittal

UN STOCKAGE DE DONNEES PARE POUR L’AVENIR AVEC DELL COMPELLENT ENTERPRISE

ArcelorMittal est le plus grand fabricant d’acier au monde. Tous les processus critiques de production dépendent d’un système centralisé de stockage des données. Etant donné que la plate-forme de stockage existante n’était plus assez performante et qu’elle n’avait pas été prévue pour faire face à la croissance du groupe, ArcelorMittal a demandé à Ordina de déployer la solution Dell Compellent Enterprise au sein de l’organisation. Cette plate-forme nouvelle génération élève les capacités et les performances vers des niveaux plus hauts.

Arcelormittal Contact Prendre contact avec Laurent Van Hoorebeke

Le client

ArcelorMittal, le plus grand fabricant d’acier au monde, compte 60 sites dans 27 pays différents. Le groupe a été créé en 2006 après la fusion d’Arcelor et de Mittal Steel. Dans le monde, ce géant de l’acier emploie 260 000 travailleurs ; dans notre pays, le groupe a des sites à Gand, Geel et Genk. 

Le défi

Tous les sites de production d’ArcelorMittal travaillent 24h/24 et 7j/7. Tous les processus critiques de production dépendent d’un système centralisé de stockage des données. Par conséquent, il faut que le stockage des données soit absolument fiable, performant et stable. Etant donné que la plate-forme de stockage existante n’était plus assez performante et qu’elle n’avait pas été prévue pour faire face à la croissance du groupe, ArcelorMittal a décidé d’investir dans une plate-forme nouvelle génération.

la solution

En collaboration avec Dell, Ordina a opté pour la solution Dell Compellent Enterprise en tant que système de stockage centralisé. Le système a été conçu de manière entièrement redondante et est réparti sur deux centres de données d’ArcelorMittal. La conception, l’installation et la configuration ont été confiées aux ingénieurs certifiés Dell Compellent d’Ordina. Au cours de la phase de migration, l’équipe chargée de l’implémentation a utilisé la fonctionnalité ThinImport. Ainsi, les consultants pouvaient réduire les temps d’arrêt au minimum absolu.

le résultat

Dell Compellent Enterprise utilise les dernières technologies pour élever la capacité et la performance à des niveaux plus hauts. Ainsi, les équipes des centres de données peuvent décider elles-mêmes à tout moment quelles données ils souhaitent stocker sur les disques rapides et quelles autres ils veulent stocker sur des disques plus lents. La déduplication permet de garantir que les données identiques ne sont conservées qu’une seule fois. En outre, ce nouveau système de stockage permet de faire face à la poursuite de la croissance du groupe. Bref, avec la solution Dell Compellent Enterprise, les centres de données d’ArcelorMittal sont parés pour l’avenir.