Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

CRH Landscaping

Ordina paves the way for production optimization at CRH

The fact that the economic crisis hit the construction industry hardest was bad news for CRH Landscaping Europe. The market leader in paving solutions found its prices severely squeezed. Therefore CRH started looking for new opportunities, even within its own organization. ‘Continuous improvement' became a key concept, and improving efficiency was a must. In the production plants, CRH deployed iMESure, the Manufacturing Execution System from Ordina. Using up-to-date information from iMESure, CRH can now cut costs in the entire production chain while investing heavily in product development.

CRH Landscaping Contact Contact Wouter Tielemans

customer

CRH Landscaping Europe is part of the international group CRH, a manufacturer of building materials. In Europe, CRH Landscaping is the market leader in paving solutions for private customers and government. The general public is more familiar with the brand names Marlux in Belgium and Struyk Verwo in the Netherlands. CRH Landscaping Europe operates 70 manufacturing facilities with 2,250 people in six countries and has annual turnover of 500 million euro.

challenge

70 to 80% of CRH's operational processes take place at 70 European production sites. That is also where the bulk of the investment occurs. However, CRH had no insight into causes of stoppages in the production chain. It was also unclear how the organization, technology or maintenance within the factories needed to be adjusted. Therefore CRH started the 'continuous improvement' project. At the operational level, this meant increasing the efficiency of production. But it was also important on a strategic level: management needed correct and up-to-date production information. CRH wished to identify best practices in production and convert that into investment in machinery or production capacity.

solution

A Manufacturing Execution System (MES) was the ideal tool to put those efficiencies into practice. High on the priority list: the Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE) component, the ratio between the amount of ‘within-spec’ products that a machine turns out and the maximum possible. CRH chose iMESure, Ordina's MES platform, for all its European production plants. The system was integrated with SAP, CRH's EPR system. iMESure is modular. In the future, the solution will integrate additional information flows such as energy or material consumption. Or the automation of manual interventions on machine couplings.

result

Using the MES, much hidden knowledge in the production lines was revealed. Microstops, short interruptions caused by a technical failure or by lack of a raw material, are always spotted now. iMESure shows the cause, and outlines a solution. The software is a great asset at the organizational level too. The plant managers now organize their production, maintenance and cleaning time better. Based on the best practices that they extract from iMESure, they examine how it can be done more efficiently. The continuous pursuit of improvement leads to sound internal competition within the group. Finally, the MES appears to be a catalyst for the continuous improvement spirit: the follow-up plan has many new change projects in store. The combination of iMESure and the improvement programme has cut production costs significantly in recent years.

Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

CRH Landscaping Europe

Ordina pave la voie pour une optimalisation de la production chez CRH

Les répercussions de la crise économique, plus lourdement ressenties encore dans le secteur de la construction, principalement, ont constitué un coup dur pour CRH Landscaping Europe. Les prix de ce leader sur le marché des solutions de pavage ont été mis sous forte pression. C’est pourquoi CRH s’est mis en quête de nouvelles opportunités, y compris au sein de sa propre organisation interne. ‘Amélioration continue’ est notre maître-mot, et l’amélioration de l’efficacité nous est apparue incontournable. Dans nos sites de production, CRH a déployé iMESure, le ‘Manufacturing Execution System’ d’Ordina. Grâce aux informations actualisées récoltées par iMESure, CRH peut désormais réduire ses coûts dans toute la chaîne de production et investir simultanément dans le développement de produits.

CRH Landscaping Europe Contact Prendre contact avec Wouter Tielemans

le client

CRH Landscaping Europe fait partie du groupe international CRH, fabricant de matériaux de construction. En Europe, CRH Landscaping est leader du marché des solutions de pavage pour les particuliers et le secteur public. Le grand public est sans doute plus familier aux noms de marque Marlux, en Belgique, et Struyk Verwo, aux Pays-Bas. CRH Landscaping Europe rassemble 70 sites de production et occupe 2 250 personnes dans six pays. Son chiffre d’affaires annuel dépasse les 500 millions d’euros.

le défi

70 à 80 % des processus opérationnels de CRH se déroulent dans 70 sites de production européens. C’est également sur ces sites que la majorité des investissements sont opérés. CHR n’avait cependant aucune vision des causes provoquant l’arrêt de la chaîne de production. De même, la manière de procéder aux adaptations nécessaires en matière d’organisation, de technologie et d’entretien au sein des différentes usines était floue. C’est pourquoi CRH a entamé un trajet de ‘continuous improvement’ (amélioration continue). Au niveau opérationnel, cela impliquait une amélioration de l’efficacité de la production. Mais d’un point de vue stratégique également, le management avait besoin d’informations de production correctes et à jour. CRH devait en effet pouvoir identifier les ‘best practices’ (meilleures pratiques) de la production et les traduire en investissements dans les machines et la capacité de production.

la solution

Il est apparu qu’un Manufacturing Execution System (MES) était l’outil idéal pour parvenir à cette amélioration de l’efficacité.  En haut de la liste des priorités : la composante Overall Equipment Effectiveness (OEE), qui traduit le rapport entre la quantité de bons produits fournis par une machine et le maximum pouvant être atteint. Pour tous ses sites de production européens, CRH a opté pour iMESure, la plate-forme MES d’Ordina. Le système a été intégré dans SAP, le système ERP de CRH. iMESure étant modulaire, la solution pourra à l’avenir encore intégrer des flux d’information supplémentaires tels que la consommation d’énergie ou de matériaux. Ou l’automatisation des interventions manuelles grâce à la connexion de nouvelles machines.

le résultat

Grâce au MES, le ‘hidden knowledge’ de la ligne de production a été dévoilé. Les micro-interruptions dues à des défaillances techniques ou la pénurie de matière première sont aujourd’hui directement identifiées. iMESure détermine la cause et donne l’orientation de la solution. Dans le domaine organisationnel également, le logiciel présente de nombreux avantages. Les Plant Managers planifient désormais plus facilement le temps dédié à la production, à l’entretien et au nettoyage. Sur la base des meilleures pratiques déduites avec iMESure, ils définissent des méthodes d’amélioration de l’efficacité. L’ambition d’amélioration continue mène à une compétition interne plus saine au sein du groupe. Et le MES apparaît comme un catalyseur de la volonté d’amélioration continue : le trajet de suivi comporte en effet encore plus d’un projet d’adaptation… L’alliance d’iMESure et du programme d’amélioration a permis d’abaisser, ces dernières années, les coûts de production.