Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

SALM

20% productivity gains thanks to Quintiq and Ordina

The project 1-10-100 (1 day production, 10 days lead-time, 100% customer satisfaction) required a new, integrated planning concept at furniture manufacturer SALM. The aim of this project was to boost the group's productivity by 20%. Ordina accepted the challenge and expanded the existing Quintiq application in the nerve-centre of the international furniture group.

SALM Contact Contact Wouter Tielemans

customer

SALM or Société Alsacienne de Meubles is one of the five largest furniture manufacturers in Europe, with 1,400 employees and turnover of 368 million euro. You will probably never come across the SALM name in a furniture shop, but you will see their biggest brands EMK, Cuisinella and Schmidt. 

challenge

SALM has five factories in the French and German region of Alsace. It has planned its production for years using an Ordina solution based on Quintiq. SALM uses it to manage the production quota per plant, brand, sales territory and supply area. The production quotas are decisive for the calculation of delivery and production dates. Quintiq even controls on which truck delivery round, a kitchen or bathroom will be delivered to the customer. Recently SALM contacted Ordina because it wanted to support a number of additional planning processes with Quintiq. The project 1-10-100 (1 day production, 10 days lead-time, 100% customer satisfaction) required a new, integrated planning concept. The aim of this project was to boost the group's productivity by 20%.

solution

Ordina supplied a Quintiq application tailored to SALM's needs. This application is used in the planning not only of sales and operations, but also of production and logistics of the five different production units. Based on the sales of previous years and orders in the pipeline at various sales outlets, Quintiq produces an approximate forecast of the number of orders in the coming weeks or months. The application also monitors the capacity of SALM's main suppliers and prevents unexpected shortages.

result

The Quintiq application is the nerve-centre of the business process at SALM. The system gives the sales and logistics department something to hold on to, while management have a single powerful tool to manage the entire production chain in a transparent way. The order confirmation system keeps customers informed of the status of their order and the production plants get a clear overview of the daily production orders they have to start.

Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

SALM

Gain de productivité de 20% grâce à Quintiq et Ordina

Le projet 1-10-100 (1 jour de fabrication, 10 jours de lead-time, 100% de satisfaction clients) exigeait un nouveau concept de planification intégré pour le producteur de meubles SALM. Le but de ce projet était d'augmenter la productivité du groupe de 20%. Ordina a relevé le défi et a étendu l'application Quintiq jusqu'au cœur du groupe international.

SALM Contact Prendre contact avec Wouter Tielemans

Le client

Avec 1.400 travailleurs et un chiffre d'affaires de 368 millions d'euros, la Société Alsacienne de Meubles est l'un des cinq plus gros fabricants de meubles d'Europe. Dans un magasin de meubles, vous ne tomberez pas souvent sur le nom SALM, mais bien sur ses plus grandes marques EMK, Cuisinella et Schmidt. 

Le défi

SALM a cinq usines en Alsace française et allemande. Depuis des années, elle planifie sa capacité de production à l'aide d'une solution Ordina basée sur Quintiq. SALM gère ainsi les quotas de production par usine, marque, marché et zone de livraison. Ces quotas sont déterminants pour les dates de production et de livraison. Quintiq détermine même lors de quelle tournée une cuisine ou une salle de bains sera livrée chez le client.Désireuse de faire tourner des processus de planification supplémentaires sur Quintiq, SALM s'est récemment adressée à Ordina. Le projet 1-10-100 (1 jour de fabrication, 10 jours de lead-time, 100% de satisfaction clients) exigeait un nouveau concept de planification intégré. Le but de ce projet était d'augmenter la productivité du groupe de 20%.

La solution

Ordina a conçu pour SALM une application Quintiq sur mesure. Cette application opère tant dans la planification de la production et de la vente que dans la planification opérationnelle et logistique des cinq unités de production. Sur base des ventes des dernières années et des commandes enregistrées dans les différents points de vente, Quintiq fait une projection du nombre de commandes dans les semaines ou les mois à venir. L'application fait également un monitoring de la capacité des principaux fournisseurs de SALM et évite ainsi toute pénurie.

Le résultat

L'application Quintiq est le cœur du processus d'exploitation de SALM. Le système offre un point d'appui au département vente et logistique, tandis que le management gère toute la chaîne de production de manière transparente au moyen d'un seul outil. Le système de confirmation des commandes tient les clients au courant de l'état de leur commande et les usines reçoivent quotidiennement un relevé clair des ordres de production à démarrer.