Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

G4S

Optimal deployment of security personnel

In order to keep the passengers flowing smoothly through the security checks at Brussels airport, G4S decided to optimize the deployment of its security personnel. Ordina developed a planning tool and tested it successfully in a simulation environment. A fully-fledged solution will soon see the light of day.

G4S Contact Contact Wouter Tielemans

customer

G4S is the global leader in security solutions for homes, businesses and public institutions. Since 2011, G4S has been responsible for the surveillance and security tasks at Brussels Airport. 800 employees ensure the safety of 17 million passengers and 450,000 tonnes of cargo annually.

challenge

Due to the economic downturn, the airline industry has been faced with lower passenger numbers, increased operating costs and the imperative of cost-cutting. Security policy is not immune from these challenges. The deployment of security personnel, for example, appears to be a difficult puzzle. The number of passengers checked at the various terminals varies from one moment to another. Each day there are three major peak times. G4S has to match its staff planning to those peaks Two issues needed a solution: queues could not be allowed to get too long, and unproductive working hours outside the peak periods needed to be avoided.

solution

Ordina designed a special shift optimizer for G4S. This planning tool was tested in a simulation environment (proof of concept) for the airports of Brussels and Lyon. Different scenarios detected the optimal staffing level at the checkpoints, with a focus on short queues and a fast passenger flow.

result

The model was a success: Ordina was commissioned to develop a fully-fledged Airport Security Shift Optimizer linked to the personnel planning tool that Ordina previously implemented for G4S. With the optimized tool, G4S will also need to invest less time in planning, thus boosting its business efficiency.

Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

G4S

Utilisation optimale du personnel de sécurité

Afin de fluidifier le passage des voyageurs aux points de contrôle de Brussels Airport, G4S a décidé d'optimiser l'utilisation de son personnel de sécurité. Ordina a conçu un planificateur et l'a testé avec succès dans un environnement de simulation. Une solution à part entière verra prochainement le jour.

G4S Contact Prendre contact avec Wouter Tielemans

Le client

G4S est le leader mondial des solutions de sécurité pour les particuliers, les entreprises et le secteur public. Depuis 2011, G4S est responsable de la surveillance et de la sécurité de Brussels Airport. 800 collaborateurs veillent à la sécurité des 17 millions de voyageurs et 450 000 tonnes de marchandises annuels.

Le défi

La crise économique a engendré, pour le secteur aérien, une baisse du nombre de voyageurs, une hausse des coûts de fonctionnement et des initiatives d'austérité. La politique de sécurité n'échappe pas non plus à ces problèmes. L'utilisation du personnel de sécurité par exemple semble être un puzzle inextricable. Le nombre de voyageurs contrôlés dans les différents terminaux varie d'un moment à l'autre. Il y a trois grandes périodes de pointe par jour. G4S a dû mieux y adapter la planification de son personnel. Deux points chauds nécessitaient une solution : les files d'attente ne pouvaient pas être trop longues et les heures de travail non productives en dehors des périodes de pointe devaient être évitées.

La solution

Ordina a conçu pour G4S un "shift optimizer" spécial. Ce planificateur a été testé dans un environnement de simulation (proof of concept) pour les aéroports de Bruxelles et Lyon. Divers scénarios détectaient l'utilisation optimale du personnel aux points de contrôle, en se concentrant sur de courtes files d'attente et un flux rapide des voyageurs.

Le résultat

Le modèle a été un succès : Ordina a été chargé de développer un "Airport Security Shift Optimizer" à part entière, en liaison avec le planificateur de personnel qu'Ordina avait déjà implémenté chez G4S. Avec l'outil optimisé, G4S devra en outre consacrer moins de temps à la planification et améliorera l'efficacité des opérations.