Hilde Heylen Sales Manager +32 496 23 53 02

Pidpa (BI)

Ordina optimizes water distribution at Antwerp utility Pidpa

 “In order to process and analyse 30,000 measurements every day, a fast and user-friendly system is essential. Today, flexible reports enable us to respond quickly if there are problems.”

Each year, water utility Pidpa produces 64 million litres of drinking water for the province of Antwerp. To keep that volume flowing smoothly, Pidpa uses a distribution chain with over 12,500 km of pipes. Approximately 12% of the water leaks away. If the company wanted a detailed picture of the causes of this, and to tackle them thoroughly, then it would need accurate data. To capture and analyse that data efficiently, Pidpa teamed up with Ordina Visionworks, the business intelligence (BI) department of Ordina.

Pidpa (BI) Contact Contact Hilde Heylen

customer

As one of the largest Flemish water utilities, Pidpa provides clean drinking water to nearly 1.2 million residents of the province of Antwerp. With an infrastructure of 61 water towers, 27 pumping stations and a 12,731 km-long mains network, Pidpa is constantly maintaining and upgrading its distribution chain.

challenge

Previously, the Pidpa analysts compiled the data from more than 400 metering points - spread throughout the mains network - in Excel files. This calculation of water losses was tremendously time-consuming. Also, it only happened sporadically, and no in-depth analyses of the data were possible. This meant that Pidpa had little control over their problems. Fast, accurate and detailed information was indispensable to detect the causes and tackle them.

solution

To bridge the gap between unstructured data and clear understanding, Pidpa put its faith in business intelligence (BI). Together with the BI consultants from Ordina Visionworks, Pidpa decided to install a datamart. BusinessObjects as a reporting tool on top of the datamart met all the requirements identified. The solution has all the characteristics of a big data project. All metering points send data to the data mart every quarter of an hour. It collects, analyses and structures the data, which represents over 30,000 measurements per day. This forms the input for fast, flexible and detailed reports, on the basis of various parameters.

result

Consistent basic information was a prerequisite for Pidpa. Thanks to the high frequency of measurements and fast analysis, faults are detected quickly. Over the longer term, all the information becomes more and more accurate, making the reports a lot more reliable. There is no longer a limit on the amount of data. The self-service BI - data analysis without the support of IT staff - ensures that Pidpa employees can handle the reporting tool efficiently themselves. Anyone can now easily perform analyses for his/her specialist field. Various parameters enable production of detailed ad hoc reports: according to geographical needs, with different metering devices, over a period of time ... Because automation freed up time for thorough analysis, Pidpa can act faster to deal with problems and easily monitor the effectiveness of a solution. The end result is more efficient management of the water distribution.

Hilde Heylen Sales Manager +32 496 23 53 02

Pidpa (BI)

Ordina optimalise la distribution d’eau chez Pidpa à Anvers

“Pour traiter et analyser chaque jour 30.000 données de mesure, un système simple et rapide est essentiel. Aujourd’hui, des rapports flexibles nous permettent de réagir rapidement aux problèmes. ”

Chaque année, la société des eaux potables Pidpa produit 64 millions de litres d’eau potable pour la province d’Anvers. Afin d’assurer un flux continu en termes de volume, Pidpa fait appel à une chaîne de distribution avec plus de 12.500 km de conduites. Environ 12 % de l’eau se perd dans ces conduites. Si la société veut un aperçu détaillé des causes de ces pertes et y remédier, elle a besoin de données précises. Pour obtenir et analyser efficacement ces données, Pidpa s’est tourné vers Ordina VisionWorks, le département Business Intelligence (BI) d’Ordina.

Pidpa (BI) Contact Prendre contact avec Hilde Heylen

le client

En tant qu’une des principales sociétés des eaux potables en Flandre, Pidpa approvisionne près de 1,2 million d’habitants de la province d’Anvers en eau potable pure. Avec une infrastructure de 61 châteaux d’eau, 27 stations de pompage et 12.731 km de conduites, Pidpa entretient et renouvelle sans cesse ses réseaux de distribution.

le défi

Autrefois, les analystes de Pidpa rassemblaient les données de plus de 400 points de mesure – répartis sur l’ensemble du réseau de conduites – dans des fichiers Excel. Ce calcul de la perte d’eau représentait une charge énorme en termes de temps. De plus, ces analyses n’étaient réalisées que de manière sporadique et aucune analyse approfondie des données n’était possible. Dès lors, Pidpa avait très peu d’emprise sur les problèmes. Des informations rapides, correctes et détaillées étaient indispensables pour détecter les causes des problèmes et y remédier.

la solution

Pour combler le vide entre les données déstructurées et la nécessité d’un aperçu clair de la situation, Pidpa a fait confiance au Business Intelligence (BI). En collaboration avec les consultants BI d’Ordina VisionWorks, Pidpa a décidé d’installer un datamart (entrepôt de données). En tant qu’instrument de rapport au-delà du datamart, BusinessObjects a permis de répondre à tous les besoins. La solution présente toutes les caractéristiques d’un projet Big Data. Tous les points de mesure envoient des données, tous les quarts d’heure, au datamart. Ce dernier collecte, structure en analyse ainsi plus de 30.000 données de mesure chaque jour. Grâce aux différents paramètres, ces données donnent naissance à des rapports rapides, flexibles et détaillés.

le résultat

Des informations de base cohérentes étaient la première exigence de Pidpa. Grâce à la fréquence élevée des mesures et à l’analyse rapide, les défauts sont rapidement détectés. À terme, toutes les informations deviennent de plus en plus précises et les rapports de plus en plus fiables. La quantité de données n’est plus limitée. Le ‘self-service BI’ – analyse des données sans le soutien des responsables IT – veille à ce que les collaborateurs de Pidpa puissent se servir aisément de l’instrument de rapport. Désormais, tout le monde peut réaliser facilement une analyse selon son domaine de compétence. Différents paramètres permettent d’obtenir des rapports détaillés ad hoc : selon les besoins géographiques, avec différents dispositifs de mesure, sur un laps de temps déterminé… Vu que l’automatisation libère du temps pour des analyses approfondies, Pidpa peut intervenir plus rapidement en cas de problème et suivre dans quelle mesure la solution trouvée est efficace. Le résultat final est une gestion et une distribution de l’eau plus efficaces.