Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

Belgium Douane

Planning tool creates order in complexity

For the management of the Belgian Customs and Excise administration, planning is no easy task. More than 750 inspectors are out on the road every day carrying out diverse and/or complex verification tasks. Since Ordina provided the administration with an Advanced Planning & Scheduling tool, planning and interaction between managers and inspectors has become much smoother.

Belgium Douane Contact Contact Wouter Tielemans

customer

In a unified Europe, the Belgian Customs and Excise administration plays a major role. Due to increasing international trade and growing demands imposed on customs administrations, the administration faces many safety and security issues. That safety and security is guaranteed in Belgium by 750 inspectors. Each year they perform about 400,000 verifications.

challenge

In an economically globalized world, government is trying to reduce paperwork for customs officers. When goods clear customs, entries are lodged electronically. If the risk is high, then an inspector carries out a verification. Due to the diversity and complexity of the tasks, planning is a real exploit. Moreover, emergency and crisis situations can throw a spanner in the works.

solution

This thorny issue of planning needed an appropriate solution. Ordina had the perfect planning tool for Customs & Excise. Ordina implemented Quintiq, an APS (Advanced Planning & Scheduling) solution. The flexible configuration and user interface were the decisive factors in the decision. In a second release, Ordina provided the tool with a range of new features. These were necessary due to some important European legislative changes concerning safety and security.

result

The management at Customs & Excise now has a much better view of its inspectors' work. The latter report their status continually. Their planning is monitored in real time. If any unexpected events crop up during the verification, then the management can respond promptly. Furthermore, the tool enables the whole process to be measured. So the Customs & Excise management have a clear picture of the workload of all staff.

Wouter Tielemans +32 475 94 40 10

Douane belge

Un outil de planification règle la complexité

Pour les chambres de régie de l'Administration belge des douanes et accises (D&A), le planning n'est pas une sinécure. Plus de 750 contrôleurs effectuent chaque jour des missions de contrôle diverses et/ou complexes. L'outil Advanced Planning & Scheduling d'Ordina accélère nettement le planning et l'interaction entre les chambres de régie et les contrôleurs.

Douane belge Contact Prendre contact avec Wouter Tielemans

Le client

Dans l'Europe unifiée, l'Administration belge des douanes et accises (D&A) joue un grand rôle. Avec la hausse du commerce international et les exigences croissantes imposées aux administrations douanières, les D&A sont confrontées à de nombreuses questions de sécurité. La sécurité en Belgique est garantie par 750 contrôleurs. Chaque année, ils effectuent ± 400 000 missions de contrôle.

Le défi

Dans une économie mondialisée, les autorités essaient de limiter la surcharge administrative pour les fonctionnaires des douanes. Quand des marchandises franchissent la douane, la déclaration est électronique. Si le risque est élevé, un contrôleur intervient. Le planning est un véritable exploit vu la diversité et la complexité de ces missions. En outre, des situations d'alarme ou de crise viennent régulièrement semer la pagaille.

La solution

Cette question épineuse du planning nécessitait une solution adaptée. Les D&A ont trouvé l'outil de planification idéal chez Ordina. Quintiq, une solution APS (Advanced Planning & Scheduling), a été mise en service. La configuration flexible et l'interface conviviale ont été décisives dans le choix. Dans une 2e release, Ordina a pourvu l'outil d'une série de nouvelles fonctionnalités. Celles-ci étaient nécessaires en raison de quelques modifications législatives européennes importantes en matière de safety & security.

Le résultat

La chambre de régie des D&A a maintenant une meilleure vision de ses contrôleurs. Ces derniers communiquent leur statut en permanence. Leur planning est suivi en temps réel. En cas d'imprévu sur le trajet de contrôle, la chambre de régie effectue directement la modification. En outre, l'outil permet de mesurer tout le processus. Ainsi, la direction des D&A a une idée plus claire de la charge de travail de tous les collaborateurs.