Tom Francis Business Unit Manager +32 473 27 30 57

Digipolis Ghent

High-quality reporting policy for the local authority of Ghent

Ordina Belgium was commissioned by Digipolis Gent to work on the largest BI project in its history. In the context of the new Management and Policy Cycle for local government, Ordina developed and implemented a reporting environment based on a data warehouse and Microsoft BI.

Digipolis Ghent Contact Contact Tom Francis

customer

Digipolis is an expert IT partner offering total solutions for the municipal administrations and public welfare centres (OCMW’s) of Antwerp and Ghent. Digipolis anticipates the needs of its customers, advises and actively seeks appropriate ICT solutions. These solutions include software development, implementation of hardware, network or telephony infrastructure, provision of ICT competence, coaching of end-users, embedding the solution in the organisation, monitoring of the implementation of ICT projects and aftercare.

challenge

Reporting by municipalities, provinces and public welfare centres is often not very useful, too voluminous, sometimes contradictory and too complex. With a view to sound policy reporting, the Flemish Government made the Management and Policy Cycle mandatory for all administrations from 1 January 2014. This cycle is intended to make policy reporting transparent, coherent and reliable for all regulatory bodies. It should reflect the strategic policy choices and provide tools to guide and monitor the policy. The MPC legislation has profound implications for financial reporting by public authorities. Digipolis was looking for a new reporting environment for Ghent City Council, based on a data warehouse and Microsoft BI.

solution

The project included the establishment of the data warehouse and reporting environments from three source systems: finance (SAP), HR (Cevips) and the municipal information system of the city of Ghent 2020. Digipolis Ghent relied on the support of SAP R/3 experts and experienced reporting specialists at Ordina. Six consultants jointly implemented the new system successfully, together with six colleagues from Digipolis, within eighteen months.

result

Ordina's Vision Guide project methodology was converted into an iterative approach. The method allowed the detailed requirements of the system to be determined only at a late stage in the development. The project up team took full advantage of this to make use of growing understanding of the new guidelines. Throughout the project, Ordina managed to increase efficiency and optimise the total cost of ownership resulting in a user-friendly and efficient financial reporting environment.

Tom Francis Business Unit Manager +32 473 27 30 57

Digipolis Gand

Reporting politique de qualité pour la ville de Gand

Pour le compte de Digipolis Gand, Ordina Belgium a participé au plus grand projet BI de son histoire. Dans le cadre du nouveau cycle de politique et de gestion (BBC) pour administrations locales, Ordina a développé et implémenté un environnement de reporting sur la base d'un entrepôt de données et de Microsoft BI.

Digipolis Gand Contact Prendre contact avec Tom Francis

Le client

Digipolis est un partenaire TIC spécialisé qui offre des solutions totales pour les administrations et CPAS des villes d'Anvers et de Gand. Digipolis anticipe les besoins de ses clients, les conseille et les accompagne activement dans la recherche de solutions TIC adaptées.Ces solutions totales comprennent le développement du logiciel, l'implémentation du matériel, des réseaux et de la téléphonie, la mise à disposition de compétences TIC, l'encadrement des utilisateurs finals, l'ancrage dans l'organisation, le suivi dans la réalisation de projets TIC et le SAV.

Le défi

Le reporting des communes, provinces et CPAS est souvent peu utilisable, trop volumineux, voire contradictoire et trop complexe. En vue d'un reporting politique sérieux, le gouvernement flamand rend obligatoire, à compter du 1er janvier 2014, le cycle de politique et de gestion (BBC) pour toutes les administrations. Le BBC doit rendre le reporting transparent, cohérent et fiable pour toutes les instances de contrôle. Il doit refléter les décisions de politique stratégique et offrir des outils favorisant la conduite et le suivi de la politique mise en œuvre. La législation BBC a des conséquences profondes sur le reporting financier des administrations publiques. Pour l'administration de la ville de Gand, Digipolis a recherché un nouvel environnement de reporting sur la base d'un entrepôt de données et de Microsoft BI.

La solution

Le projet comprenait l'établissement de l'environnement de l'entrepôt de données et de reporting à partir de 3 systèmes sources : finance (SAP), HR (Cevips) et le système d'information administrative de la ville de Gand 2020. Digipolis Gand comptait dans ce projet sur le soutien d'experts en SAP R/3 et de spécialistes en reporting expérimentés chez Ordina. 6 consultants ont implémenté, avec 6 collègues de Digipolis, le nouveau système en l'espace de 6 mois.

Le résultat

La méthode de projet Vision Guide d'Ordina a débouché sur une approche itérative. La méthode a permis de ne définir les exigences détaillées du système que tard dans le processus de développement. L'équipe du projet a ainsi profité au maximum de la perception progressive des nouvelles directives. Tout au long du projet, Ordina a réussi à optimiser l'efficience et le coût total de possession, ce qui a donné un environnement de reporting financier convivial et efficace.