Kris Van Marcke Senior Business Consultant +32 474 98 42 83

Value Discovery: Optimization Concretization

The importance of a correct expectation pattern!

Defining a correct expectation pattern is important. This applies to optimization projects just as much! You have certain expectations that you want to realize. With optimization projects, it is vital that you put what you want to achieve into sharp focus beforehand.

What results do you have in mind?

Is this realistic? Do we have the necessary details available, and do they tell us anything about the feasibility of our objectives?

concept

An optimizer requires rules that must be complied with and an objective value function in order to maximize. This sounds simple and is technically correct. A value function must reflect the values that are important for your organization. In reality, however, countless variables are important for running your business. One has more impact than the next and not all variables work together as you would like. Improving one facet could cause worsening in another area. Focusing your optimization objective then becomes a complex task. It is important that your expectation pattern is realistic, and that it is backed by the information, the knowledge that you have already.

approach

You set the right objectives by:

- Identifying the business values that you want to improve

- Translating them into measureable elements

- Ensuring that objective measurements are possible based on your data

- Reducing the number of objective elements to a minimum

- Determining how other elements can be combined

result

Thanks to the “Optimization concretization” step in the Value Discovery process, you have a clear goal in sight. The business values that will be optimized during the optimization project, individually and combined, become well focused. It is clear how you will measure whether the intended results have been achieved. You have verified whether the data on which you are basing yourself are available and reliable.

Value Discovery: Optimization Concretization Contact Contact Kris Van Marcke

Kris Van Marcke Senior Business Consultant +32 474 98 42 83

VALUE DISCOVERY : OPTIMIZATION CONCRETIZATION

L'IMPORTANCE DE DÉFINIR CORRECTEMENT LES ATTENTES

Définir correctement les attentes est important. A fortiori pour les projets d'optimisation ! Vous avez certaines attentes que vous souhaitez réaliser ? Lorsqu'il s'agit de définir un parcours d'optimisation, il est crucial que vous sachiez au départ les objectifs que vous souhaitez atteindre.
Quels sont les résultats espérés? 
Sont-ils réalistes? Disposons-nous des données nécessaires et ces données nous indiquent-elles si nos objectifs sont réalisables ?

CONCEPT

Un solveur a besoin d'un cadre, ainsi que d'une fonction objectif à maximiser. Une fonction objectif doit refléter les valeurs importantes de votre organisation. Ce principe techniquement correct peut paraître facile. Toutefois en réalité, de nombreuses variables entrent en jeu dans l'exploitation de vos activités. L'une ayant plus d'impact que l'autre et toutes ne se conjuguant pas forcément comme vous le souhaiteriez. Améliorer un aspect d'un côté peut entraîner une dégradation de l'autre... C'est pourquoi une définition précise des objectifs de votre optimisation peut se révéler une tâche complexe. Il est important que vos attentes soient réalistes et reposent sur des informations et sur les connaissances dont vous disposez d’ores et déjà.

APPROCHE

Pour définir correctement vos objectifs :
- identifiez les business values que vous souhaitez améliorer ;
- traduisez-les en éléments mesurables ;
- assurez-vous que des mesures objectives soient possibles sur la base de vos données ;
- limitez autant que possible le nombre d'éléments objectifs ; 
- définissez comment les différents éléments peuvent être combinés.

RÉSULTAT

Grâce à l'étape optimization concretization du processus Value Discovery, vous avez un objectif clair. Les business values que vous optimiserez durant le parcours d'optimisation, séparément ou simultanément, sont clairement définies. Les outils destinés à mesurer les résultats ont été identifiés. Vous avez vérifié si les données sur lesquelles vous vous basez sont disponibles et fiables.

VALUE DISCOVERY : OPTIMIZATION CONCRETIZATION Contact Prendre contact avec Kris Van Marcke