Bart Van Mulders Business Intelligence Competence Lead +32 474 89 17 06


Smart Testing in a BI and Data Warehouse Environment!

Organisations are giving more prominence to their decision-making. Decisions based on unreliable or erroneous information could have disastrous results for company management. Changing course based on misleading information could get your company into serious trouble. Quality is therefore of the essence. VisionTest primarily focuses on the accuracy, completeness, punctuality and transparency of such a BI service.
Most testing methods are application-oriented and are therefore not sufficiently adequate to test the management information from a business process-oriented approach. Generally accepted test methods provide a generic framework for handling specific problems. That may be adequate, but in a DWH & BI environment they are often found to be lacking.
VisionTest fits in closely with VisionGuide, which is the BI implementation methodology of Ordina VisionWorks.


VisionGuide includes very specific phases, i.e. the preparatory, analytical, design and production phase, and last but not least, the implementation phase. The two intermediate phases are of an iterative nature. Each phase generates its own documentation. They provide various inputs for testing; the so-called test base, which forms the basis for the various functional and technical test programmes (User Tests, Integration Tests, etc.). Subsequent testing will be based on these test programmes.


Data warehouses usually start out small. Tiny parts of functionality are supplied and then built up further into the various architectural layers of the BI&DWH environment. These layers are subsequently integrated into what is finally referred to as an operational BI&DWH environment. Testing in the early stages of the building process will prevent major repair work in the latter stages, and testing is scaled up as the data warehouse develops. The data warehouse can be viewed from a technical and a functional point of view, and each requires a different approach in terms of testing.


The test strategy takes into account the business risks and objectives as well as the incremental introduction of a sound management information system. VisionTest therefore guarantees:
- Sound data quality for reliable management data
- Insight into data traceability
- Information that is available when needed
- Confidence in the quality of the data supplied
… and consequently, a high level of acceptance of the BI solution on the part of the end-users.

VisionTest Contact Contact Bart Van Mulders

Bart Van Mulders Business Intelligence Competence Lead +32 474 89 17 06

VisionTest

Tests malins dans un environnement BI et DWH !

Dans les entreprises, la prise de décision occupe une place importante. La prise de décision sur base d’informations erronées ou peu fiables peut avoir des conséquences désastreuses pour la gestion. Un changement de cap sur base d’informations trompeuses peut poser des problèmes à votre entreprise. La qualité est donc essentielle. VisionTest se concentre avant tout sur le caractère exact, complet, opportun et transparent de l’équipement BI.
Les tests courants concernent l’application et ne suffisent donc pas pour évaluer l’approche des informations de gestion sur base du processus d’entreprise. Les méthodes de test généralement acceptées offrent un cadre générique avec lequel les problèmes spécifiques doivent être traités. Cela peut être suffisant, mais, dans un environnement DWH & BI, c’est rarement le cas.
VisionTest est lié à VisionGuide, la méthode d’application BI d’Ordina VisionWorks.

Concept

VisionGuide comprend des phases spécifiques : préparation, analyse, conception & réalisation et application. Les deux phases du milieu ont un caractère itératif. Chaque phase fournit des documents. Elles livrent toutes sortes d’apports pour les tests : la base de test sur laquelle peuvent reposer les différents plans de test fonctionnels et techniques (Tests Utilisateur, Tests Intégration, …). Ensuite, les tests ont lieu à l’aide des plans de test.

Approche

La création d’un entrepôt de données part de quasi rien. De petits éléments de fonctionnalité sont fournis et développés pour former les différentes couches d’architecture de l’environnement BI&DWH. Ensuite, ces couches sont intégrées jusqu’à la création d’un environnement BI&DWH opérationnel. Les tests précoces dans le processus de construction évitent de gros travaux de réparation à une phase ultérieure. Parallèlement à la construction,  la même extension a lieu au niveau des tests. L’entrepôt de données peut être examiné de manière technique et fonctionnelle, chaque examen donnant naissance à une autre approche en termes de tests.

Résultat

La stratégie de test tient compte des risques et des objectifs professionnels ainsi que du caractère incrémental de l’introduction d’un bon système d’informations de gestion. Ainsi, VisionTest garantit :
- une bonne qualité des données pour des données de gestion fiables ;
- un aperçu de la traçabilité des données ;
- des informations disponibles au moment voulu ;
- une confiance dans la qualité des informations présentées
… et, par conséquent, un haut niveau d’acceptation de la solution BI par les utilisateurs.

VisionTest Contact Prendre contact avec Bart Van Mulders