vito1

VITO

Microsoft Azure knowledge sharing

VITO (Flemish Institute for Technological Research) is a leading independent European research organisation in the field of cleantech and sustainable development. VITO had Microsoft Azure in mind in order to build cost-efficient scalable applications in the cloud. However, the company had no experience with Azure and was looking for a partner who could offer them know-how in this area.
VITO entered into a close collaboration with Ordina, which guided them in their first steps in Azure, and the development of knowledge concerning the use and management of the Azure platform. Knowledge was also shared on the Azure Scaffold technique: drawing up a set of rules on the management of Azure resources, naming conventions and best practices.
Ordina’s Microsoft unit helped VITO gain insight into the costs associated with the various building blocks of the Azure platform, on the basis of a dashboard. Attention was also paid to setting up a secure express route connection between VITO and a Microsoft Azure data centre.

vito1

VITO

Microsoft Azure know-how sharing

VITO (Institut flamand de recherche technologique) est un organisme de recherche européen indépendant de premier plan dans le domaine des cleantech et du développement durable. VITO avait Microsoft Azure en tête afin de créer des applications évolutives et rentables dans le nuage. Cependant, l’entreprise n’avait pas d’expérience avec Azure et cherchait un partenaire qui pourrait leur offrir un savoir-faire dans ce domaine.
VITO s’est engagé dans une étroite collaboration avec Ordina, qui les a guidés dans leurs premiers pas dans Azure, et le développement des connaissances concernant l’utilisation et la gestion de la plate-forme Azure. Des connaissances ont également été partagées sur la technique Azure Scaffold : élaboration d’un ensemble de règles sur la gestion des ressources d’Azur, les conventions de nommage et les meilleures pratiques.
L’unité Microsoft d’Ordina a permis à VITO d’avoir un aperçu des coûts associés aux différents éléments constitutifs de la plate-forme Azure, sur la base d’un tableau de bord. Une attention particulière a également été accordée à la mise en place d’une liaison express sécurisée entre VITO et un centre de données Microsoft Azure.